Why I’m not ready to be an adult

Where I live, being 18 years of age makes you legally an adult. This is bullshit. I don’t want to be a kid anymore but I’m not ready for all that ~adulthood entails. Reasons include:

  • I’m scared of babies
  • I don’t know how to talk to children so I just parrot what they say and correct their grammar
  • I spend all my money on makeup and Starbucks
  • I harbour the hope that one day certain famous people will realise that I am their perfect match
  • I have a folder in iPhoto with over a hundred pictures of my cat
  • I still listen to the embarrassingly awful powerpop music I loved when I was 14
  • I still don’t know how to hold my pen properly
  • I have an assignment to do for Linguistics but I’ve regressed back to my 10 year old self and am playing neopets instead
  • I have an unironic love for One Tree Hill
  • I use tumblr way too often, and am one of those irritating people who feel like it’s okay when they use it because I had tumblr ~before it was cool
  • I say I hate hipsters even though it’s very likely that I am one
  • I pretend that I’m smart but I genuinely asked my friend the other day if Barcelona was in South America
  • I have no idea what I want to do with my life

8 thoughts on “Why I’m not ready to be an adult

    1. a cure to being a hipster… hmm, maybe learn to love “mainstream” music and start wearing ugg boots unironically? and start loving other people’s babies because hipsters definitely aren’t nice to kids.

      Like

    1. i think i’ve come to realise that “technically an adult” and “actually an adult” are complete worlds apart. though i still have no idea what actually being an adult really means…

      Like

I like what you say

