Advice for incoming university students

I’ve got less than two months until my first year at uni is finished, which pretty much means I know everything there is to know about everything. I’m sure there are many posts just like this running around, but here’s my take on what people* need to know before starting uni:

  • What other people study or do with their time is not your concern. Your friend doing a [whatever you deem to be useless] degree probably hears it all the time, so don’t ruin a friendship by adding your unneeded unoriginal unsupportive unhelpfulย opinion on how theyย should consider doing something more “useful in the real world”.
  • Start your assignments as soon as you get them. I never followed this during school and I’ve spent the year regretting that habit. Spending the night before an assignment is due struggling to find another 400 words for an essay is not fun.
  • Do your readings.
  • You have to be the one to initiate conversation, otherwise it is very likely that you will spend the next 3 years not speaking to anyone.
  • Seriously, it’s important to do your readings. It is very possible to do really well without doing them but life will be easier if you actually read the things you’re supposed to.
  • No one else cares how you dress.
  • Know when to quit. I started off doing a BA/LLB, and after a semester I quit. I could not handle law. It doesn’t make you stupid if you quit doing a subject – it just means it’s not right for you. Don’t do something you hate just because you think it’ll be useful.
  • Hayley’s videos on this youtube channel are a godsend.
  • Also, Rachel’s college advice videos here are wonderfully useful.
  • Your grades aren’t going to be as good as they were in school. Try your best to ensure the change isn’t too drastic. Like by DOING YOUR DAMN READINGS.**
  • Partying every weekend may seem cool but finishing the year with a D average and $20 000 on your student loan is not cool.
  • There is no such thing as a cruisey subject.

*ie what I needed to know.
**fun fact: I have a test in 2 weeks on the first 6 chapters of my textbook (an exciting 272 pages!) and I haven’t read a single page yet. Do as I say, don’t do as I do.

2 thoughts on “Advice for incoming university students

I like what you say

