“Everything”

I was looking through some of my old writings and I came across this:

“It’s funny how when I first saw you, I didn’t like you at all. My changed attitude didn’t creep up on me though. I just realised one day how much you meant. Now you mean everything.”

I stared at the sentence and felt utterly confused. I have absolutely no idea who I am referring to. This baffles me – that sometime within the past couple of years there was someone who clearly meant a lot to me and now I cannot for the life of me figure out who that someone was.

Anything seems important when you’re close to it. It blinkers your vision and fills your thoughts with it solely; nothing else can get through. But time has this strange way of slowly eroding the barriers and showing you the bigger picture, until eventually whatever was consuming your thoughts is tiny, insignificant, forgotten. Someone who means “everything” at one point in time won’t necessarily be there in your future, and you won’t necessarily mind their absence.

Not everything is eternal. It doesn’t have to be a bad thing.

One thought on ““Everything”

I like what you say

