Making the most of sunshine

There’s a saying where I live, that “you can’t beat Wellington on a good day”. It’s cliché and overused and undoubtedly true. The past week Wellington has been putting on daily stunners, and yesterday the weather finally succeeding in calling me to go on an adventure. Originally I just wanted to be outside and take pretty pictures of the harbour, but we took a different turn and went on a spur of the moment drive around the coast. I may be well acquainted with the city, but I had never bothered to check out the glorious sights just beyond the CBD. We drove as far as we could, then got out of the car and walked through Red Rocks in search of seals. It was the first time in a long time that I spent in nature and made the most of the sunshine. Today my collarbone and feet may be sunburnt, but I feel restored to an equilibrium I didn’t realise needed balancing.

I like what you say

