May ’16 Favourites!

As a way to encourage myself to focus on positivity and post more regularly, I thought it’d be a good idea to start a regular series. My writing inspiration tends to be pretty temperamental, so this way I can make sure I’ve got something to talk about somewhat regularly. Every month I’m going to endeavour to record a few things that were great, so here is what I loved about May 2016:

MUSIC: I bought myself a ukulele at the start of the month because I missed playing music a lot. It was totally worth every cent, because it was the catalyst for me finally starting a Youtube channel. As much as I miss my piano, it’s so fun playing something so tiny and simple. I wouldn’t let myself play piano songs in Cmajor because it was too easy and didn’t excite me, so it’s liberating playing something where the whole point is to be simple (and now I’m playing songs almost exclusively in C!)


FOOD:
Awhile ago, Lox and I were exploring Vancouver and stumbled into a bakery that has since become our favourite place to be. Purebread is truly glorious: their scones are unreasonably delicious, their service is great, and they have the best espresso coffee I’ve found in Vancouver. I’m from Wellington – pretty well-known for being among the best coffee cities in the world – so to find something that rivals the glory of coffee back home is impressive. If you’re ever in British Columbia, you need to find one of their locations and indulge in the beauty of their food.

BEAUTY: This whole month I’ve been using the Mask of Magnaminty by Lush and it is the best face mask I’ve ever used. Usually Lush masks have to be stored in the fridge and be used within 2 weeks because of how fresh the ingredients are, but for some reason this one doesn’t require it. It leaves you feeling super clean and tingly, and I’ve noticed a definite improvement in my skin since using it. After using it weekly for a month, I’m only about a third of the way through my tub, so it’s pretty good value for money too. For people who are acne-prone or who have oily skin, this mask is absolutely perfect.

APP: I started tracking my spending using a (free!) budgeting app called Goodbudget. It’s been fascinating seeing where my money actually goes, and has stopped me from making a lot of impulse purchases because I know I have to record everything in the app. I don’t know if it’s the sort of thing I’ll actually build into my permanent routine, but it’s been invaluable in making me realise how much money I need to survive, and how much money I need to be happy.

TEDTALK: I don’t have a permanent job right now, but I’m getting regular temp work through a recruiting agency. I’m three weeks into a data entry/administrative role (with no end date in sight), and actually quite enjoying myself. The cool thing about data entry is that it requires very little brain input, so in the past few weeks I’ve listened to over 100 different TEDTalks. My personal favourite is from Al Vernacchio: “Sex needs a new metaphor” – it’s a great way to think about consent, and also makes you want pizza.

If you have any favourites of your own to share or recommend, I always want to hear them!


2 thoughts on “May ’16 Favourites!

    1. Thank you so much! I really appreciate knowing people do actually read this blog :P I’m really enjoying your blog too (though sometimes it definitely makes me miss England a little too much)

      Like

I like what you say

