August ’16 Favourites

LIFE: Probably the biggest deal about August was that Lox & I had our 2 year anniversary. We celebrated by going to the PNE fair where we went on some of the Playland rides (home of the killer rollercoaster from Final Destination 3) and watched a duck race. Later we dressed up fancy and went to see The Book of Mormon. It was a really beautiful day and pretty much the perfect way to celebrate 2 years. (I also bought a snazzy hat at the fair, so a very successful day all round.)

ANIMALS: I’ve since seen Mow (the green-eyed kitty, so called because mow is what I say anytime I see a cat) several times around my street, making me feel slightly less cat-deprived than I did a month ago. I was also stoked to see my first Canadian squirrel as well as 3 skunks – NZ wildlife mainly consists of birds and plants, so seeing skunks and squirrels is very exciting to me.

MUSIC: Lox brought home a midi keyboard so I’ve been able to play the piano again! I really like my little ukulele, but I’m a pianist through and through, and every part of me feels so right when I’m playing keys. I’m struggling to remember how to play some songs, but I’m stoked that I can remember how to play anything, considering it’s been over 5 months since I left my beloved piano back in NZ.

HEALTH: For reasons I’m not entirely sure of, I’ve started running. I am still not a fan of exercising and I’m still convinced people are lying when they talk about endorphin highs, but I really felt like I needed to do something about the state of my fitness. I have a fair amount of natural strength but absolutely no cardio ability. While I wouldn’t classify running itself as a “favourite”, I love how quickly I can see results. When I started 2 weeks ago, I couldn’t run for more than 5 minutes without feeling like I was dying. While it’s not pleasant or enjoyable, now I can run for 15 minutes without coughing up a lung. That feels like a success.

BEAUTY: I don’t think I’ve written about my skin much on this blog, but for the past two years I’ve been dealing with the unwelcome joy of adult acne. My skin finally seems to settling down and my scars are fading, so that now I’m comfortable being seen without foundation for the first time in years. I think there are a bunch of reasons behind my skin behaving itself (potentially a blog post idea?), but I’m giving the main credit behind fading my scars to this product from Clean & Clear. I’m stoked I found something that doesn’t require a prescription and doesn’t burn my skin off like benzoyl peroxide does. If you’re dealing with hyperpigmentation, you should give it a try in case it’s also a beautiful match for your skin!

All up, August was a pretty awesome month – I drank a lot of good coffee, Vancouver finally realised that it was summer and was hella hot, and there were no stresses like July held (fingers crossed it stays that way).

3 thoughts on “August ’16 Favourites

I like what you say

