Thankful

img_9620Canadian October feels strange to me – I’m used to October holding longer days, temperamental spring weather, and not much else. Obviously, the seasons here are flipped, but even North American fall is a far cry from NZ autumn. I’ve never felt the change in seasons so distinctly, or seen leaves with such vibrantly different colours. (I also never realised that those giant orange pumpkins were what pumpkins actually look like over here.) October in Canada also means Thanksgiving, a tradition that doesn’t exist in NZ. I know Thanksgiving doesn’t have the prettiest history, but I think the idea of a holiday based on being thankful is really beautiful, so here are some of the things that I’m thankful for:

  • Minus the turkey, most Thanksgiving food is actually completely vegetarian-friendly (I think yam fries are my new favourite thing), and on Friday night I had a delicious meal with my flatmates (and I had tofurkey and didn’t feel left out at all!).
  • My flatmates are a really great group of people, and I don’t think I could have been luckier to fall into this living situation.
  • Pumpkin pie.
  • On Monday, a friend of mine hosted a vegan Thanksgiving, and it was really cool to try a bunch of foods I ordinarily wouldn’t – who knew that vegan ice cream was actually almost as good as the real thing?
  • I’ve been working in a really cool job with a wonderful team.
  • Fuzzy socks.
  • After many years of struggle, I think I’ve finally mastered how to french plait my own hair.
  • I’ve spent the past 6 months living in a beautiful, vibrant city that has so much life (as well offering so much delicious food – I’ll definitely need to do a food post about Vancouver soon!).
  • Tim Horton’s double doubles.
  • Even though it’s still a ways off, I’m excited about how my life will be when I’m back in NZ.
  • I can afford to travel the world with my favourite person and I cannot wait for our next adventures.

One thought on “Thankful

I like what you say

