Vegetarian Vancouver: Best Places to Eat

A couple of months after moving to Vancouver, Lox and I decided to try vegetarianism. It had been something that interested us both but we’d never really bothered doing anything about it. When we moved into our flat, we decided to not buy any meat, partly because it was expensive and partly because we had no way of cooking it properly (we have a kitchenette – no stove or oven). Transitioning to full-on vegetarianism was pretty straightforward, as it just meant to order different food when we ate out. Vancouver made this easy for us, because there are so many delicious options available. As I’m leaving this city soon, I wanted to share my favourite places to get a mad vege feed, plus they’re all reasonably priced and easily accessible by public transport:

MEET

Hands down my favourite restaurant to ever exist. Everything is vegan, mostly gluten-free, and delicious. Mains range from $10-$15 but I always end up spending more because their starters are delicious (shout out to their whisky BBQ chiggin’ things). I am convinced I could bring my most carnivorous friends here and they would love the food. Totally recommend if you’re a baby vegetarian missing your old diet and having a mad meat craving.

To get there: There are two locations but the Main Street one’s vibe is more my thing: from Main Street-Science World SkyTrain station, take the no. 3 bus up Main Street (the Gastown location is about a 10 minute walk from Waterfront station).

3G VEGETARIAN RESTAURANT

Most Asian restaurants are pretty vegetarian-friendly already, but you cannot beat 3G. When I first ate here, I wasn’t sure if I was actually in a vegetarian restaurant, as my meal looked and tasted an awful lot like actual chicken. All the meat substitutes are made from soya and are unreasonably delicious – their soya chicken in sweet and sour sauce is my favourite thing, plus the veggie tempura and spring rolls are beautiful. Mains are around $15 for a very generous portion.

To get there: Take the Canada line to King Edward Station and walk a couple of blocks (there are also a million buses running in that area).

BANDIDAS TACQUERIA

If you’re craving Mexican food, this is absolutely the place to go. Everything is vegetarian, with options to veganify your meal too, and they offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner, so you’re covered no matter what time of day you’re visiting. I particularly recommend Dani’s enchilada, because I’m pretty sure it’s the best thing in the world. I don’t have a picture because I’m terrible at taking decent food shots, so instead be amazed by how amazing the tacos look.

Let's taco bout it. 🌮 #bandidastaqueria #best #glutenfree #itsbeentoolong #vegetarian

A post shared by Tiarra Sulyk (@tiarrasulyk) on

To get there: Take the Skytrain to Commercial-Broadway and walk a couple of blocks down Commercial Drive.

Honorable mentions to Cafe Deux Soleils (everything is vegetarian, with lots of vegan and gluten-free options too), The Wallflower (not vegetarian, but has lots of options so “Omnivores, Carnivores, Vegan, Vegetarian and Celiacs can all dine together in comfort”), and The Foundation (the small nachos are more than enough for two people, I promise). Let me know if you’ve tried any of these or if there are any I’ve missed!

6 thoughts on “Vegetarian Vancouver: Best Places to Eat

  1. Pingback: On My Way Back Home | Puzzled Perpetuation

  2. Pingback: Am I good person or am I just lazy? | Puzzled Perpetuation

  3. Pingback: Little life update | Puzzled Perpetuation

I like what you say

