2016 Favourites + A Reflection

I started 2016 like I start most years, with a list of goals and resolutions. I like to make these lists because I love lists and it makes me feel like I’ve got something to work towards. I’m pretty happy with where I ended up with my goals and resolutions for the year, so I wanted to do a quick reflection on those and my year as a whole:

PHOTOGRAPHY: I kept up my photo-a-day project pretty consistently – I just did a quick scan through and there are only 5 days that are completely blank. I definitely missed more than 5 so some of my entries are slight cheats, but I’m still really stoked with myself for more-or-less sticking to this goal. I’m hoping I’ll have enough money left to buy myself a proper camera before leaving Canada so I can (hopefully) keep improving.

photo-1-01-17-4-52-27-pm
July was the only full month that had selfys that didn’t make me cringe.

WRITING: Ehh, I’m still really out of the habit of creative writing. I kept up blog posts pretty well, but I specified to myself that they didn’t count. I started quite a few songs and did actually finish one – it’s only about 45 seconds long but it feels wrong to add anymore to it, so I’m still going to claim that I succeeded with that goal.

MUSIC: I finally did start doing more music with Lox – all up we posted 5 covers to Youtube, plus more that we didn’t record. My Youtube channel itself was an unwritten goal of mine too, so I’m really happy that I finally got brave enough to start sharing my covers online. In 2017 I’m wanting to post more songs (covers and originals!) when I reunite with my beloved piano.

LIFE: 2016 had a bunch of other achievements for me – I left home and moved to Canada, I got my first flat, I started my first full-time job, I stopped eating meat, I made new friends, and I learned that I can support myself. I also was reunited with two of my favourite people and saw more of both NZ and Canada than I ever imagined. Personally, it was actually a really great year for me, but on a global scale it was rough as hell, and I’m still a little concerned about what the long-term effects might be.

This year was another strange mix of wonderful and awful, and I’m sure I speak for a lot of people when I say I am pretty damn pleased to see the back of 2016. 2017 is mostly unwritten for me – my only plan is that I leave Canada in March, and everything else is pretty uncertain. I am really looking forward to finding out what 2017 will bring.


I like what you say

