May ’17 Favourites!

WELLINGTON: I’ve loved Wellington since I started university in 2012 but actually living here is a totally different experience. I love being able to walk to work, to my friends’ flats, to my weekly pub quiz, to anywhere I need to go. I’ve been to some amazing places, but I’m convinced that Wellington is the best place in the world. Plus the suburb where I live is filled with cats, so I meet a new cat nearly everyday when I’m walking to and from work. I am so in love with this city.

NZ MUSIC MONTH: It’s now the end of NZ Music Month 2017 and I’m really stoked with how it’s forced me to be more productive with my youtube channel – this month I’ve posted 3 new covers and listened to more kiwi music than I have all year.

COFFEE: Lox bought me a keepcup for my birthday last year because he knows I’m a fan of passively helping the environment. I’ve just started using it this month and I love thinking about all the coffee cups I’ve already saved since using it (my new job is right across the road from a wicked coffee shop so it’s good I’m saving the environment, because I’m definitely not saving money).

MAKEUP: As a relatively frugal 20-something, I often do surveys and enter competitions because I love the thought that I might win something. I’ve never actually won anything though, until this month! Miranda of Slashed Beauty ran a giveaway to celebrate reaching 10k subscribers and (bless her) made it an international giveaway so I could actually enter – and I won!!! I didn’t realise at first because the email went straight to my spam folder – I guess gmail thought it seemed too good to be true – but I found it just in time (literally, I had 2 hours left to respond). It arrived the other day and I am so excited to play with everything I won.

LIFE: I’m been at my new job for a whole month now, which I can hardly believe, and I’m really enjoying it – I’m doing work that I support in a field that I’ve wanted to be for a while. That also means it’s been a month since I moved into my new flat which I also love. I’m feeling really content & settled right now, which is a combination of feelings I haven’t had for a long time. For the past few years, everything I’ve done has been tinged with the taste of temporary – uni, living at home, part time work, travelling overseas. Now I have both job & a home that I have no plans to leave and I’m relishing the feeling of being in one place for a while.


I like what you say

