July ’17 Favourites

FAMILY + FRIENDS: My niece was born a week ago and is actually adorable – and I’m of the opinion that babies are strange and scary, but she really is so cute. When I was having lunch with my mum the other day, I told her that I thought she was very cute and not weird looking like most new babies and I’m positive the server who came to refill our glasses overheard me, so my local cafe might think I’m a little mean now. As well as becoming a second-time aunt, I also spent a lot of time with my girl friends this month which was lovely – I had no idea it had been so long since I actually hung out with a group of just girls. We played the 2000s edition of Trivial Pursuit and I still managed to lose terribly – I guess I can’t blame it on not knowing 70s trivia anymore.

MOVIES: One of the awesome things about NZ winter is that it’s North American summer, so a ton of wicked movies come out at this time of year. I saw “Baby Driver” on Sunday night and it was fantastic – I’m not really into action movies but this kept me hooked the whole time and was a really great movie – I’d highly recommend seeing it!

(During the intense driving scenes, Lox whispered to me, “Gus has gotten much better at driving” and made me cackle in the theatre.)

MUSIC: Over the past few years, I’ve been becoming less judgemental about music and it’s definitely widened my taste horizons but oh man, even two months ago me is judging this choice – I’m really liking Selena Gomez’s song “Bad Liar”. I don’t think much of her voice or range, and somehow this actually works with that and makes for a really great song. I still feel pretty “meh” about everything else she’s done, but I cannot get this song out of my head (I’ve also had other people who aren’t into her confirm that this is actually a very good song, so I don’t think it’s just a “me” thing either).

THE WEATHER, I GUESS? July has been cold as hell, but interspersed throughout the freezing nights & gale force winds have been the most beautiful, crisp clear days. I’m still super over winter, but having days like this just might tide me through til December:

I like what you say

